I’m not big into sports. But with everyone talking about the World Cup I feel like I need to at least have a general sense of what’s going on and who’s playing who. So I decided to see what was out there in app-world to help me stay up-to-date for free.

The Associated Press has a free app that provides news, photos, videos and all other sorts of tools to follow the games. It allows you to pick several teams to follow on your “homepage” so you can get easy info on the teams at the tap of the screen. While all the tools and resources are great in theory, the app gets easily overwhelmed and shuts down frequently. Every time I try to look at photos or videos, the screen freezes up. Also the navigation wasn’t entirely intuitive, but I guess I could get used to it if I were to keep using this app. On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this app a 4. It gets a below 5 rating because of its frequent crashes.


Telegraph’s app is much better and navigable. Like AP’s, it allows you to pick several teams to follow on your homepage. It also has to-the-minute news updates on what’s going on, including a news ticker at the top of its news page, which is great. It also provides historical context, which I really appreciate. The news ticker at the top of its news page is awesome, and I also like how you can instantly send any article to Facebook, email or Twitter. (I won’t be doing any of that, but it’s nice that the option is there!) On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this app a 7. It loses a couple points because I couldn’t set it to Eastern Standard Time, and the interface could be a bit more user-friendly.


