Summer in New York is indisputably awesome. Except for the mosquitoes. The worst is when you wake up in the middle of the night to that tiny little buzzing sound inside your ear, realizing that you’ve been repeatedly bit by the same little bugger over and over again while you were sleeping. And of course, you can’t go back to sleep because you know it’s still buzzing around your bedroom, ready to attack at any moment.

So when a friend told me about Anti-Mosquito Free, I was really excited to try it out. The app claims to transmit a very high-pitched frequency that mosquitoes hate, supposedly keeping them away like a citronella candle.

But when I installed and opened the app, I was SUPER skeptical. Since its sound is inaudible to humans, it really seems like a total hoax. I took it with me outside to see if it would actually prevent mosquitoes from biting, with no real success. But I knew that I’d need to do a controlled experiment to really come up with a valid rating on this app.

Since I didn’t really have an easy way to do this, I was about to give up on my review. Until this morning.

I was in a cab on my way to Penn Station to catch a 4:40am train to DC. As I was sitting there, completely sleep-deprived and mildly delirious, I realized there was a mosquito in the car. I had at least three fresh bites on my legs. Ugh.

Then I saw the little bugger just chilling on the window. So I eagerly grabbed my phone, queued up the app, and held it up to the mosquito. And believe it or not, the thing actually started to writhe for about 30 seconds until it just went limp and fell off the window. I couldn’t believe it – it actually worked!

On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this app a 6. It’s awesome that it actually works, but its powers don’t seem to be to be very far-reaching. Since we rarely see the mosquitoes that get us, let alone catch them standing still, this app isn’t as utilitarian as it attempts to be. A valiant effort, though.

