Tonight, after an amazingly full day at the Silverdocs Film Fest and the USCRI national conference, I arrived at my hotel exhausted and famished.

I asked the front desk for some takeout menus, dragged myself up the stairs to my room, and plopped onto the bed with a sigh of relief. I looked through the menus, but nothing sounded particularly good. That’s when I remembered GrubHub. GrubHub is an online clearinghouse of restaurants that deliver near you, and most of their listings include a menu that you can order directly from online.

So I checked out the GrubHub app. Overall it functions pretty well, and is essentially the same as the website, but one step better. It uses the built-in GPS to automatically identify where you are, so you don’t even need to enter in an address. It includes ratings, menus, and the online ordering feature.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this app an 8. It’s functional and useful, but there is something slightly clunky about the interface. I think my standards are going up the more I review these things.

