One of the first apps I ever saw – before I had my own iPhone – was the iLightr. It’s one of those apps that people used to whip out to show off how cool the iPhone was when it first came out.

And there’s a reason why. The app looks and functions exactly like a real lighter (except for the fact that it doesn’t produce real fire). You can flip it open, spin the flint wheel, see the sparks, hear it light, and move the flame around and upside down. If you’ve never seen it before, it’s pretty incredible.

But at 99 cents, I don’t know why anyone would really want to get this app. One of my classmates suggested that it could be used at a concert, as a modern day throwback. That’s really the only “practical” use I can think of for this app. Other than that, it doesn’t serve a real purpose.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate this one a 6. It partially makes up for its lack of practicality by being just a really cool, well-done app. But if I could take back my 99 cents, I would.

p.s. Zippo makes a free app that some people claim to be just like (or even better than) the iLightr, but it’s not quite true.  The flame on the iLightr is much smoother and more realistic. But Zippo is free and comes with cooler exterior options. So it’s up to you to decide where your priorities are when picking a fake lighter.

This video, albeit a little dorky, breaks it down perfectly:

//

