ihandy tip calculatorSeveral people have noted the convenience of tipping calculator apps, so I had to check it out for myself. For something as basic as calculating tips, I was adamant about not forking over any money, so I perused some of the free tipping apps to see what I could find.

After reviewing the descriptions and customer ratings, I landed on the iHandy Tip Calculator, which comes as a free version or a 99 cent version. I stuck with the free version, which is very convenient and easy to use.

It allows you to enter in the total bill amount, split it among up to 30 people, and enter a tip of up to 50%. And it gives its results instantly. The interface is super simple and easy to use, making for a great quick app with little hassle.

However, if there’s going to be a whole app devoted to this, it should offer the opportunity to enter in different amounts for each guest (because, after all, we’ve all been at those dinners where people just don’t want to split the bill evenly), because that’s when tipping and calculating gets really complicated. Anyone have any suggestions?

On a scale of 1 to 10, the iHandy Tip Calculator gets a 7.

