A long time ago, before I worked from home, I used to be a big NPR junkie. Every morning, I’d wake up to the Morning Edition theme song, and it would guide me along my morning routine until I was out the door and on my way to work. It was such an integral part of my daily routine, and I loved it.

But now that I work from home and don’t really have to “get ready” for work, I usually roll out of bed and go straight to my computer and start working. No morning routine, no prep time, just straight to work.

NPR news appAnd in this new routine, I’ve cut out the NPR part of my day. I do sometimes wake up to WNYC, but I typically turn it off immediately after (part of the reason is that I miss KALW, my Bay Area public radio station that I listened to before moving to New York). But regardless, I’m realizing that I’m depriving myself of one of my favorite news sources, and something’s gotta give.

So I recently installed the NPR News app on my phone and it’s great! Not only does it let you pick the station you want to listen to (naturally, I picked KALW), but it allows you to listen to specific programs, create playlists, and sort the news by topic. It’s a fantastic way to really customize your NPR listening, and you can take it with you on the go! If I had a morning commute, I would totally take advantage of this. If only they had an alarm clock setting…

On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate the NPR News app a 9.

