envy

Some people have mentioned to me that reading this blog is making them wish they had an iPhone. First off, I’m glad my posts are getting people interested and excited! But my purpose here isn’t really to show off or even to rave about how awesome the iPhone is. It’s more to spark the imagination about what’s possible – and specifically, how communications is evolving right before our eyes.

I’m not partial to any particular smartphone (okay, well, maybe a little bit). There are so many out there and a lot of them come with a lot of unique advantages. The Evo has an awesome big screen. The Blackberry has IM. The Android is the fastest growing smartphone in the market, and it recently hit 1 billion app downloads in the Android Market.

And even if you don’t have a smartphone, no worries. Currently, only 17% of American cell phone owners are using smartphones. But according to eMarketer’s July 2010 Top Picks, that percentage is projected to grow steadily over the next few years, with 49% of us using smartphones by the end of 2011.

So… even for the self-proclaimed late adopters, I think change might be inevitable.

//

